Moko Apt

Menebar Ilmu Pengetahuan

Latihan Menulis dalam Bahasa Inggris (1)

Leave a comment


Last Friday was a holiday. It was Independence Day, so I didn’t have to go to classes. I slept a little later than usual. Around ten, my friend Larry came over to my apartment. We packed a picnic basket and then took the bus to Forest Park. We spent most of the day there.

lin_2142619bWhen we got to the park, we found an empty picnic table near a pond. There were ducks on the pond, so we fed them. We threw small pieces of bread on the water, and the ducks swam over to get them. One duck was very clever. It caught the bread in midair before it hit the water. Another duck was a thief. It stole bread from the beaks of other ducks. While we were feeding the ducks, Larry and I met man who usually comes to the park every day to feed the ducks. We sat on park bench and spoke to him for fifteen or twenty minutes.

After we ate our lunch, I took a short nap under a tree. While I was sleeping, a mosquito bit my arm. When I woke up, my arm itched, so I scratched it. Suddenly I heard a noise in the tree above me. I looked up and saw an orange and gray bird. After a few moments, it flew away.

During the afternoon, we did many things. First we took a long walk. When we got back to our picnic table, I read a book, and Larry, who is an artist, drew pictures. Later we played a game a chess. Larry won the first game, but I won the second one. Then he taught me how to play a new game, one with dice. While we were playing this new game, one of the dice fell from the picnic table onto the ground. We finally found it in some tall grass.

20130410PHT07153_originalIn the evening, we joined a huge crowd to watch the fireworks display. The fireworks were beautiful. Some of the explosions were very loud, however. They hurt my ears. When the display was over, we left. All in all, it was a very enjoyable day.

Reference: Betty Schrampfer Azar, Fundamentals of English Grammar 2nd Edition, p.39-41

Author: admin

menebar ilmu pengetahuan

Leave a Reply

